Monday, March 23, 2026

National Review: No On VA Redistricting

Sunday, March 22, 2026

Islam is Coming for your Dog. Also, Your Culture

Look, I don't really know enough about Islam or Muslims to have a very fine-grained view about the question of their compatibility with Western culture and liberalism (in the broad sense). Here's something I do know, however: liberals (in the narrow sense), progressives, and far-leftists simply refuse to honestly discuss or even consider the issue. Their automatic response to anyone who raises the question is: that's racist. Which is pretty much their response, in one form or another, to anyone raising any issue that might call their dogmas into question.
   So, among other conclusions we can draw: the opinions of people on the left don't matter here. And won't matter unless/until they start considering and discussing such questions seriously--e.g. admitting that it is at least a possibility that some groups of people, religions, etc. might be, to at least some extent, inconsistent with our culture and/or our political system.
   The left's standard responses--that's racist, you're racist, that's x-phobic, blah blah blah--are basically equivalent to: stop thinking about it and simply accept and implement our possibly-catastrophic dogmas. Chop of your kids genitals, give up your First- and Second-Amendment rights, open the borders, admit hoardes of apparently-hostile foreigners...oh and, give us your dogs...
   The answer to all those things is, of course: no.
   Sorry, I meant: HELL NO.
   Until the left stops refusing to think, we simply can't take their positions seriously. Maybe, some day, they'll start, y'know, actually thinking about things again. And then maybe they'll convince us... But we won't know until that day rolls around...if it ever does...
   Anyway, I like this guy:

"Bridging the Red-Blue Divide, One Concrete Deed at a Time"

I'm skeptical, but we certainly need things like this.
I don't see how anything will help much unless/until the Dems move back to at least the vague vicinity of the center, though.

Nick Shirley's Reporting on Hospice Fraud in L.A. Pushes MSM to Reluctantly Acknowledge the Story

Nick Shirley Reporting Timeline:
MN Child Care Fraud:
Phase 1: a conservative kid with a camera reveals massive (mostly Somali) child-care fraud in MN.
Phase 2: Progressives defend the fraud and attack the reporter.
Phase 3: The evidence is so appalling that even the MSM has to acknowledge it.
L.A. Hospice Fraud:
Phase 1: Same conservative kid reveals massive hospice fraud in Los Angeles
Phase 2: Progressives defend the fraud and attack the reporter.
Phase 3: The evidence is so appalling that even the MSM has to investigate it. <-- You are here

Next up:
Conservative investigative reporters prove that Dems in CA are paying bums and drunks to register and vote for Democrat causes.

Turley: Russiagategate: Buried, but Not Dead

Russiagategate, the Democrat conspiracy to convince Americans that Russiagate, Trump's fictional conspiracy with the Rooskies, was true, has never been fully investigated and aired. As Turley notes, it's got the wrong political valence. The Democrat hoax about Trump was total hogwash...but the press and all the other right people wanted it to be true. It was false--but politically correct... So it not only dragged on long beyond the point at which it had become obvious bullshit--which, to my mind, was late 2017--it still lives today in the minds of many on the blue team, trapped in that echo chamber.
   And don't forget: the MSM gave itself more than one Pulitzer Prize for its participation in Russiagategate. Not just propagandistic regurgitation of blue-team talking-points...but it's actual participation in the hoax...
   As Turley notes, this may well be the biggest political dirty trick in American History.
   But it has exactly the wrong political valence...so.,.. The media blared Russiagate from the rooftops (well...it owns transmitters and printing presses and websites...it doesn't have to resort to mere rooftops...), relentlessly amplifying the meager, near-non-existent evidence for the hoax. but it dismisses the copious evidence for Russiagategate when it bothers to mention it at all. One of its greatest powers is its control over the volume dial on public discussion--stories it likes: crank it up to 11. Stories it doesn't: all the way down.
   Anyway, Russiagate was one of the main things that slapped some sense into me about mainstream American politics as 2017 wore on. I've always been an inveterate enemy of political correctness--before it even came to be known as woketarianism--but I was still a Democrat, still on the blue team, still blind to the deceptions of the MSM... So, hey, at least Russiagate helped redpill me...

Robert Mueller RIP

.

Saturday, March 21, 2026

RIP Nicholas Brendon

Damn.

Palmetto State Armory Increasing Production and Prioritizing Orders Going to VA

I think I know where I'm getting my next AR...
IMO SCOTUS is going to slap the left down hard on these gun bans...but I'm not taking any chances.

Nick Freitas on the Lying OD Dems

Honestly, you guys do really, really suck.

Friday, March 20, 2026

Something's Rotten in Fulton County

What the heck is going on in Fulton County, GA re: the 2020 election?
The blue team's laughable nonsense about the 2020 election being "the most secure election ever"...or whatever the hell their talking-point was...has always been, well, laughable nonsense. If you rely on mail-in ballots, you decrease the security of the election. And if you indiscriminately mail out ballots...well...that's just nuts.
But I've never believed the Trumpistas' side of the story, either. That is, I've never believed that the preponderance of the evidence indicated that the election was stolen.
But this lunacy in Fulton County...what the heck, man?
The most likely explanation is the PJ Media...hardly the most reliable source...got confused about something.

AJW: Antifa Terrorists Finally Held Accountable

A little taste of the madness that spans the left. From trantifa to their scumbag lawyers to the lame-ass stupidity of Democracy Now...and I'm sure you could find similar shit on NPR and much of the rest of the lamestream media...
   I share AJW's outrage at the scumbag little rat-roach of a lawyer lying his way through an account of the terrorist attack on the Houston ICE facility, calling it a "noise demonstration" and pretending that they were just, y'know, setting off some innocent fireworks on the Fourth of July...and, y'know, shooting cops in the neck... The crack-brained Democracy Now crone just eats that shit right up...

What the Left Has in Store for Trump Supporters When They Win Again

Leftists themselves are saying this openly: they are planning a campaign of retribution. 

Trump Betrayal on Illegal "Immigration"?

Some on the right have been saying that Trump was about to betray us on this crucial issue.
Sadly, it looks like they may be right.
I've never thought that emphasizing the phrase "mass deportation" was a good idea.
Mass deportation, however, is, in fact a good thing.
And the only way to preserve the existence of the nation--once the other side has decided to facilitate invasion by foreigners--i.e. mass illegal immigration.
Progressive-left Dems now know that (a) they can open the borders and allow foreign nationals to flood the nation whenever they hold the Presidency, and (b) they can prevent deportations in their centers of power by shrieking and screeching and impeding law enforcement.
So they can let in everybody and prevent the vast majority of them from being deported.
That's sufficient to destroy the USA within a generation or two.
Even if we can formally keep the nation in one piece, by importing people who will eventually vote for their catastrophic policies, the Dems are basically guaranteeing the transformation of the nation into their leftist dystopia.

Perhaps Trump has just decided that we have to change our emphasis and our rhetoric to eventually win this battle. But even that is extremely bad news. And I fear it's worse than that.

"How Iran Sees the War"

I don't know what to think of this.
Not that I really deserve an opinion.

Prediction: Dems are Going to Win the VA Gerrymandering Battle

The anti-gerrymandering position is only slightly more popular than the pro- position. And the Dems are just absolutely kicking the red team's ass on this. They've produced a bunch of slick and misleading tv ads, for one thing, and the weak response I've seen is...well...weak. We got a fake "newspaper" in the mail the other day. The fake name of the fake newspaper was "The Virginia Independent." The lead story was thinly-veiled pro-gerrymandering propaganda, and the rest of the thing was thinly-veiled propaganda for other Dem policies and proposals (e.g. the "assault weapons" ban). The yard sign battle...well...I can't really tell. My neighborhood is packed with leftist yard signs, so it's not a random sample. There's one sad yard sign that reads "Vote No April 21st" (as if April 21st were on the ballot...) at an intersection about a mile away...
The OD is SOL.

The Left is a Parasitic Borg that Loots the Treasury on Behalf of an Army of Democrat NGOs

Sure starting to look that way...  I'm perfectly willing to accept that this may be wrong...but the idea absolutely, positively must be taken seriously.

Also, I think he meant that there's no countervailing force anywhere in red America...

(Incidentally, the left should obviously be red...and the normals should be blue...)

MSM Continues to Pretend that Male "Trans" Shooters are Women; Canada Bans Ads with Accurate Definition of Woman

link
The left knows it can win the battle--or at least gain significant ground--by relentlessly repeating the lies.
Adding in their other tactics--e.g. shrieking and "cancelling" and whining about danger and whatnot are helpful...but maybe not necessary.
Big Nonbinary Sibling is very, very good at this.

TWZ: Former CENTCOM Commander on the Situation in the Strait of Hormuz

link
One bit that seems right to me, FWIW:
Well, we’ve had a pretty adversarial discussion going on, particularly with our European allies for at least the last 12 to 14 months with them. We haven’t really sent a positive signal. And the whole thing about Greenland and getting everybody fired up over that, and pushing that kind of thing, I think really gave some pause to them.
And of course, you know, there’s continuous rhetoric coming from across the administration towards this, and in the lead up to this, we apparently didn’t do any kind of consultation with any of our partners that we expected would be impacted by this, or whose resources we thought we would need.
Trump has been a disaster in this respect, seems to me.
And I was behind him when he kicked NATO in the ass re: building up their military to agreed-upon levels. I think they needed that. Not that it matters what I think.
But in the second term, he's just been bullying everybody.
I suspect it's some kind of extension of his approach to domestic policy, where he's realized that we are fighting for the survival of the nation against an insidious and implacable opponent. The cult has its tentacles deeply embedded everywhere. And it is ruthless. And so, unfortunately, we have to be...well...at least more ruthless than we've been to this point...
But he's gotta stop acting like a crazy person to our foreign allies.

Thursday, March 19, 2026

Carolina 78 - VCU 82

Well, that was a game we should have won...

Why the Sudden Vilification of Cesar Chavez?

I don't know whether these accusations are justified or unjustified. I have no idea whatsoever.
And I don't know whether this is the right explanation. Again, I have no idea.
However, even if the accusations are plausible/weighty/justifiable, we'd still need an explanation of why they're coming to light / being pushed now--thirty some-odd years after his death.
And I formed the same hypothesis: Chavez was against illegal immigration...and that is now quite politically incorrect.
Just about the last thing the left wants now is for a leftist champion of farm workers being on record against illegal aliens.
Though it should go without saying that hypotheses are cheap, and one of our most common errors in reasoning is to mistake abductive conclusions for inductive ones.

The South Florida Sun Sentinel: The Endless Cycle of Trump Embarrassments

The specific list of embarrassments and alleged embarrassments really doesn't much matter. The title would be accurate even if all their examples were bad.
   Look, if things go true to form, it'll turn out that a lot of these are bullshit. The Kushner investment stuff will turn out to be ordinary and unobjectionable, or the guy they fired for boozing on the job will turn out to have actually been boozing on the job, or whatever. The TDS crowd just makes shit up about half the time. (Insert standard complaint here: if he's so bad, why do they have to make things up all the time?) The complaint about playing golf is just stupid as hell. No President does nor could work 24/7. Every out-of-power party complains about the President playing golf, complains about him spending the weekend at Camp David (or wherever), etc. That one's so stupid and common that I'm not even going to count it. (Of course taking excessive amounts of time off is another matter.)
   But...yeah, the embarrassments are part of the fatigue. Though I'm a lot more concerned about e.g. the Greenland fiasco and his spazzing out about NATO refusing to help with the Strait of Hormuz than I am about the fundraising picture. Yes, the hat is "banal" (they probably wanted to say gauche...like the gold...like the diet Cokes...)...no, his people shouldn't have used that picture (Trump himself almost certainly never saw the ad). Blah blah blah. But I'd rather focus on his lunatic 2 a.m. tweets and seemingly random assertions on the international stage...
   It's hard to believe that we're not even two years into his term. He's done a lot of great things. But damn, the dude is exhausting. 
   And if this war goes bad...well, I don't even want to think about that right now.

Tuesday, March 17, 2026

Brian T. Kennedy: Why Attack Iran Now?

Exactly the question I wanted answered.

DHS Urges Fairfax Co. Not to Release Criminal Illegal Alien

Insert standard rant about how this is no longer a normal set of legitimate political disagreements.

York: Uncertainty about Iran War Aims

I think the burning question is: Why now?
Seems that part of the answer has to be: mass murder against their own people. Part of the case is moral, of course. Part of it is: the people they're murdering are the core of the opposition faction. If we ever want the Iranian regime to go away, we have to prevent the elimination of the opposition.
Look, I don't know whether this is smart or not.
Personally, I think I'd rather Trump focus on our dire domestic situation--focus on rolling back the advances of the Woketarian left.
But Iran is getting stronger and stronger conventionally speaking. It's dedicated to getting a nuke. It's the world's number one sponsor of terrorism. And it's run by theocratic lunatics. And it's been basically waging war against us for 50 years. This may be the best opportunity we'll have to do this.
But I just don't know what to think.

The Left is Stealing from Your IRA

I hope there's a wave of lawsuits over this.
I'm sure TIAA is terrible on this score.
The left is implacable. Relentless. It finds every chink in armor, exploits every loophole, finds ever way to screw the system and advance its cultish ends.
As much as the right pisses me off, it's just not as insidious.

British Heroes to be Dropped from Bank Notes in Favor of More "Inclusive" Wildlife

Monday, March 16, 2026

Trump Fatigue

Is it 2028 yet?

More on VA Dems' Lunatic Gun Bills

They seem to have included some bills that are so insane that Spanberger will pretty much have to refuse to sign them. I expect she'll sign the merely insane ones--e.g. the "assault weapons" ban. But this one almost seems to have been passed just to give her something to veto so she can keep claiming to be a centrist with something resembling a straight face, and so that maybe the bills she signs might seem less nuts:
SB 727, Senator Jones, bans the carry of 1) a semi-automatic centerfire rifle or pistol that has a fixed magazine that holds more than 10 rounds or 2) a semi-automatic centerfire rifle or pistol that accepts a detachable magazine of any size and has any of a variety of cosmetic features or 3) a semi-automatic shotgun with a fixed magazine that holds more than 7 rounds of the longest ammunition for which it is chambered or has a detachable magazine of any size, with any of a variety of cosmetic features, on or about a person on a public street, road, alley, sidewalk, public right-of-way, in a park, or in any place open to the public. There is an exception for carrying to/from a place of purchase or repair or a shooting range.

Dan McLaughlin: Don't Burn Down Our Fortifications by Getting Rid of the Filibuster

Critical Drinker: Buffy Reboot [Wisely] Cancelled

Agreed.
JQ and I both freakin' loved Buffy. But the Kuzui reboot idea sounded just catastrophically terrible. And the recently-abandoned sequel didn't sound a lot better. As the Drinker notes: without Whedon, there is no hope of success. I've heard the stories, and, yes, he sounds like a bad person. And the accounts of this from the cast sound very credible to me--FWTW. But--again, as the Drinker notes--dude could write.
Anyway. The chance of a new Buffy being anywhere near as good as actual Buffy are vanishing small. And the odds of it being a complete disaster--and probably a woke disaster--are pretty good. So it's just a really bad gamble. Is it really worth the risk of getting something like the new woke "Star Trek"--whatever the hell that's called. ST Academy or something? (Answer: no, it is not.)
Apparently one of these proposals wanted to make the main character Buffy herself, but make her black. Which...why? The story has a sequel-explaining storyline built right into it. Why the hell would you ignore that? Well...maybe because the final episode was so bad, and at that point apparently every girl in the world becomes a Slayer... So, come to think of it, maybe a reboot is the only real option...
Wonder which character they would make trans? Clearly having mere gay characters is passe now...no way that would be sufficient. Maybe some extra "neurodivergence" and whatnot, too.
Anyway:

Kenin M. Spivak: The Marxist Wing of the Democratic Party and the Destruction of the West

Something that sounded like wingnut insanity a decade or so ago...but now, I think, is rather difficult to deny.
   To repeat myself repeating myself: obviously your average Democrat does not want the destruction of the West. Not even close. On the other hand, the radical/Marxist wing of the left has always wanted that--and always been the most significant sub-sector of the radical left. Marxism in some version or other pervades the left. And the radicalization of the American left meant, basically, that the ideas of the fringe permeated farther into the heart of the faction. A very large percentage of American progressives now accept at least a few radical ideas--and many of them accept many of them. This is difficult to deny. This is a party that generally accepts the idea that men can be women, kids can choose which they are, and can be medically "transitioned"--i.e. sexually mutilated. In general, the party supports DEI, which is a catspaw for implementing the whole package of left-wing ideas, including racial preferences in hiring and mandatory indoctrination sessions. Over the past decade, the left overall has simply become radical. Socialism, destructive as it is, may be one of its less destructive new doctrines...
   And: the radical left has never made any bones about wanting to bring down the West (and capitalism, and liberalism). The far left is entirely open about that. Many less-overtly-radical types are not open about it. And many even less radical types don't even want it...not exactly anyway. Anti-Western ideas are packaged as "social justice" for their consumption. Mass unregulated immigration, for example--a well-known weapon of cultural and political destruction--is characterized as kindness and "equity." Those who accept the means without understanding the end are Lenin's useful idiots...
   Anyway.
   You've heard it all before.

What's Going on with U.S. Minesweepers?